Our Governors

Our Governors

What Do Our Governors Do?

Our Governing Body ensures accountability to all parties who have an interest in the school, especially to you the parents and your children.  It is not there to run the school on a day to day basis but is made up of a group of volunteers who, working together with the Head Teacher and Leadership Team, share a common desire to be involved in supporting the school.  Our Governors aim to help the school provide the best possible education for each and every one of its pupils.

Our Governing Body:



DAWN ASTLE-McDONALD – Co-opted Governor, Chair of Governors,  SEND

I first became a governor when my own daughter was learning here in 2016 and I live locally in Romsey with my family.  I’ve now been Chair of Governors for two years and my aim for this year is to achieve ‘outstanding’ governance so that our lovely school can become a centre of excellence for infant education.

Outside of my governor work, I have been slowly completing studies in psychology and counselling to prepare myself for a second career after being in the Royal Navy for 20 years.  I am currently completing a DipHE in Counselling at Eastleigh College and I also do some voluntary work as a peer mentor for a military charity called The Ripple Pond who support spouses of veterans with PTSD.



JANE NORTHEDGE – Co-Opted Governor, Vice Chair of Governors – EFYS

I moved to Romsey in 2020 and although I am new to the School I have had several years experience as a school governor in Kent. I have 20 years experience of management in the NHS and 14 years working in the private sector undertaking audit and consultancy.

As Governor for Early Years and I believe that, right from the start of a child’s formal education, we want to give them the confidence to move forward and at Cupernham Infant School we shall invest in their education providing them with all the life skills; technological skills; and people skills they need to equip them for the exciting world ahead of them.


NICOLE DAWSON – Co-opted Governor – HT Performance Management & Safeguarding

My name is Nicole and I have been a Governor for nearly 9 years. My background is HR in Professional Services and Investment Banking but having taken a career break, I moved from London to Romsey and had two children and I now work in the Education Sector (though still in HR).

I became a Governor when my daughter was in Year 2 at Cupernham as I wanted to find out more about the school and education and to utilise my HR skills. I have been Chair of Governors and am now Vice Chair. My favourite part of being a Governor is to come into school and see how the children are learning and having fun at school.



SHANE HURST – Co-opted Governor – HT Performance Management

I was born and bred in Romsey, and I am really passionate about the town and became a Governor as I wanted to make a difference to the children living within it. Having attended many of my daughters activities at the school, I realised I wanted to be involved in education and help contribute to the children having a fun and rewarding experience during their time at Cupernham.

I have been leading, managing and developing businesses over the years and felt I could use those skills to contribute to a positive future for the school. When time allows I love to watch any sport, specifically football, being a big Southampton FC fan.



ANGELA MAY – Co-opted Governor – Literacy

I’ve lived in the Southampton area since moving here to study at Southampton university. I work in the private sector in scientific R&D as a project and line manager. 

 I moved to Romsey in 2012 and my son attends CIS. I volunteered as a governor despite my very busy work schedule because I wanted to be able to positively contribute to the school and the wider community, but also to learn more about the educational system in general. I am very proud to be part of such a lovely school! 



LIZ SAGE – Co-opted Governor – Finance & SMSC

I have worked for the Ministry of Defence for over 15 years now, in various roles within Finance and more latterly as a portfolio and then Programme Manager. I am a Chartered Accountant and have qualifications in project and programme management.  

 I have three children who have all been pupils at Cupernham Infant school and I have been a school governor for just over 2 years. 



JANET BURNAGE – LA Governor – HT Performance Management & Creativity

I have a long association with Romsey having completed my secondary education here. I have lived in Romsey since 1984 (with a short time away) and now live a few metres from Cupernham School.

I am the Test Valley Borough Council and parish councillor for the Cupernham ward – many of the children who attend Cupernham infants live within the ward and it was this that sparked my interest in the school.  Gaining an Open University degree late in life also made me realise how important the first few years of education are.  As a governor I would like to do what I can to support the school experience for the youngest pupils and make sure they are given every opportunity to have a strong start in their education.



JANICE TURNER – Parent Governor – Science

I’m a mum to 2 girls, one is currently at Cupernham Infants and the other is due to start next year!

I’ve always had a love for science and engineering and initally worked as an engineer moving into project and product management. Recently, I’ve been working with technology start-ups bringing new products to life and in my spare time I design board games!

This is my first time as a governor but I’m hoping the skills I’ve gained in business and my love for science and technology is a valuable addition to the governor team, helping to make Cupernham Infants the best school it can be.



ED POTTERTON – Co-Opted Governor

I am currently an Assistant Head Teacher at Shepherds Down School near Winchester. In the past, I have taught in mainstream settings as well as other SEN schools. I currently have responsibility for overseeing Pupil Premium, I am the IT coordinator and I team-teach my own class alongside another teacher.

My daughter attends Cupernham Infants. I have been amazed at how smoothly the school has navigated the last 18 months. Part of the reason I expressed an interest in becoming a governor is to attempt to give something back to the school.

My family have lived in Romsey for over 6 years and we love exploring and walking in the countryside with our dog Lola.

Our Governor Roles, Responsibilities & Attendance:


  • The minutes from our Committees and our Full Governing Body (FGB) meetings are available on request from the School Office.  Please call us on 01794 514494

To Contact Us:

  • If you wish to speak to any of the Governors, please could you kindly contact them via the school office on 01794 51449 or email: adminoffice@cupernham-inf.hants.sch.uk

Governor Secure Zone: (For Governor Use only)